Chicken Curry + Rice

This is my favourite curry and special because its the first curry I learnt to make when I was a teenager. My mom taught me how to cut up a whole chicken – which I still know how to do but out of convenience I buy my chicken already cut (and skinned if I see it). Woolworths has a lovely selection.

Chicken Curry, Rice with Salad

Chicken Curry, Rice with Salad

Curry:

8 pieces of chicken (thighs + drumsticks)
onion
potato
tomato
garlic
spices and salt to taste

Braise onion in oil. Add spices and salt. For the above I used 2tchilli powder, 2t dhania + jeera powder, 1t gharam masala and about ¼ttumeric powder (I dont usually use this spice). Add washed and skinned chicken pieces. Add garlic (the ones that you get at a spice store -ready for cooking). Cook till done. Add potatoes (I cheated for the potatoes – bought the ones where you microwave for 10 mins – I look for the easiest and convenient way). I halved them before throwing it in. Lastly added about 1.5 tomatoes and let it cook for a while.

Rice:

Basmati rice (Tastic one in a green packet)
Salt
tumeric powder

Add boiling water to a pot and throw in rice, salt and about ¼t tumeric powder. The tumeric powder is optional, I used it for the colour. Boil till done.

Ready to eat.

Serve with salad

Leave a Reply

