Fajitas

This dish is perfect for a working wife who is looking to make something different and also if you’re a fan of Mexican (who isnt?). It’s very simple – thats what plays a huge part in my cooking and should appeal to those who dont like cooking much.

A fajita dinner kit is available at Woolworths for about R47 I think. It comes with the tortillas, salsa and fajita flavouring.

Fajitas

Fajitas

What you need is either chicken (or steak), some peppers and onions. You can also add a little bit of your own spices to get a desired flavour.

What I used:

Fajita dinner kit
Chicken fillet
Red, yellow & green peppers
Onion
Olive oil

I braised the onion in a wok, and added chicken cubes. You are welcome to cut strips if you prefer – it will cook faster. I threw in garlic, fajita spice and added a bit of chilli powder. When it was done, I added 3 colour pepper strips and let it cook till done.

Heat tortilla’s in microwave for about 10 seconds. Place onto a plate and add salsa to the base. Do not add it to the sides – it will make wrapping very messy. Add desired amount of chicken & peppers over salsa. Do not over fill. Fold sides to form a neat wrap. Ready to eat!

Serve with sour cream and guacamole. I’ve made my own guacamole before, refer to my Nachos post.

This is the first time I tried this dish but definitely not the last!

Leave a Reply

