Coffee Cupcakes

Since my husband loves coffee, I thought I’d make some coffee flavoured cupcakes. This is such an easy recipe – I guarantee if you don’t like baking, you will find this a breeze. For those of you who tried my chocolate brownies, I recommend giving these a bash.

Ingredients

  • 125g butter
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2t coffee diluted in 2T water
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1½ cup flour
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1t vanilla essence
  • 3t baking powder

Preheat oven to 180ºC

Using an electric beater, beat all ingredients together in a bowl – except the 3 teaspoons of baking powder. Beat for 10 minutess. I used setting 3/5 on my beater. After 10 minutes you will notice the mixture is very creamy and smooth. (I recommend leaving your butter out to soften a bit before baking). Lastly, add 3t baking powder and beat in.

Pour 1 tablespoon of batter in each cup. I got about 23.

Bake for 15 minutes on 180ºC

Once cupcakes are completely cool, ice with the following:

  • 30g melted butter
  • 1t coffee diluted in 1t water
  • 1t honey
  • 1t vanilla essence
  • 1T water
  • 1 cup icing sugar

Mix everything together until smooth. Ice cupcakes. Decorate with caramel or chocolate vermicelli before icing hardens.

Thanks to my little sis who gave me this recipe.

Leave a Reply

