Crêpes

Over the weekend I made some crêpes for breakfast. I used the recipe from my Marie Claire “spicy” recipe book – which included a bunch of basics right at the end.

I love Milky Lane’s salsa pancakes and have been ordering it every time I go there since they revamped the menu. This left me craving for one of their sweet menu items, so I thought I might as well attempt my own because I could never be able to duplicate their salsa pancake. I finally got to try them this weekend.

What you need:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1t baking powder
  • 50g melted butter
  • 300ml milk

Method:

  1. Whisk together flour, eggs, baking powder butter and a pinch of salt.
  2. Slowly add the milk and whisk until smooth.
  3. Allow the batter to sit for a few hours, or overnight.

I was on my last bit of flour (less than a cup) so used self-raising flour instead and eliminated the baking powder.

I left the mixture to stand for an hour before I start frying them. I used spray and cook and sprayed the pan only once in the beginning.


I used banana and cinnamon to fill the crêpes, topping it with chocolate sauce and chopped pecans.

I have to say that they were divine! I was so thrilled with the results – I couldn’t believe I made them. This is definitely gonna be a regular weekend brunch.

Leave a Reply

