Chocolate Cake Loaf

I made this chocolate cake before but this time around I baked it in a loaf.


Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup oil
  • 1¼ cup cake flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • ½ cup hot water
  • ¼ cup cocoa

Method
Beat eggs and sugar for 5 minutes with electric beater. Add oil and beat for a further 20 secs only.
Add sifted flour and baking powder. Mix the hot water and cocoa separately and allow to cool before adding to above mixture. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 180 degrees till done. (if using two sandwich pans, the cooking time is shorter , about 18-20 minutes).

Decorate as desired.

I opted to make a chocolate sauce by melting a cadbury slab and adding Nestle dessert cream – I added as much cream until I liked the consistency – so I cant say how much exactly went in. Sprinkled with flake.

2 Responses

  1. I want to try this, is it sweet and ‘chocolaty’ enough or does it require a topping?

  2. Well – I used three quarters of a cup of sugar because I’m not too fond of overly sweet stuff. My topping was just right. I think any cake would need some sort of icing to top if off.

Leave a Reply

