Falooda

This is my very first attempt at making Falooda. It’s been a while since I ate it too. My sister Shakira very kindly shared her recipe with me. I was very happy with the results.


Ingredients

  • 500ml milk
  • 1¼ t falooda powder
  • 2T Nestle dessert cream
  • 3T sugar
  • 1½ T elarchie syrup
  • 1t elarchie powder

Method

  1. Mix falooda powder and cold milk together in a saucepan. Put on stove and bring slowly to the boil on low/medium.
  2. Stir in sugar. When milk reaches a slow boil, remove from stove and add in elarchie syrup.
  3. Beat in cream with eggbeater/whisk.
  4. Lastly sprinkle elarchie powder on top.
  5. Pour into pyrex dish and allow to cool.
  6. Refrigerate for a few hours till set.

More info on Falooda

5 Responses

  1. This is probably a really dof question, but what is falooda powder and elarchie syrup/powder?? And what’s the consistency of the final dish like? Intrigued!

  2. Hey Jeanne. Its also called “china grass” powder. Elarchie syrup is a very sweet flavoured syrup – it comes in cream soda and strawberry flavours. Dont confuse it with rose syrup. Both are available at an Indian shop.

    Its like a milk version of jelly but slightly more firm. I just cut it into slices and served it. Its so delicious, I cant explain! I over ate when I made it. Just couldn’t stop myself.

  3. mmmm . ok can I replace this falooda powder with anything ? or can I make it at home ?

    thanks a lot , keep on

  4. Hi Angel, I think you can use gelatin? Yes, you can make it at home.

  5. I will try it , and tell u 🙂 thanks

Leave a Reply

