Prawn Curry

I made this prawn curry a while back when I was craving prawns. I usually get my prawns from a shop in Rivonia (on the boulevard), I dont know the name, but they do all the cleaning, and their service is excellent. So I ended up buying them from Woolworths and had to do the cleaning myself, which I didnt mind. I just had to have the prawn curry!


I marinated the prawns in the following for an hour:

  • 1t chilli powder
  • 1t Mozambican style peri-peri rub
  • 1t dhania (corriander) & jeera (cumin) powder
  • garlic
  • salt to taste
  • little black pepper
  • lemon juice and some water to make a paste

For the curry:

  • 1 large onion
  • 2-3 tomatoes magimixed
  • jeera (cumin) seeds
  • butter
  • garlic (a little)

I braised the onion in the butter and added the jeera (cumin) and garlic. After it sizzled a bit I added the prawns and let it cook for a few minutes, until pink / done. Lastly added the tomatoes and cooked for a short while, making sure the prawns dont get over cooked.

Serve with basmati rice or naan.

One Response

  1. My hubby is allergic so I think I’ll have to make this for me and my ‘rents when they come over. And now I know where to get the prawns too. 😉 Thanks for commenting on my blog – if not for it, I wouldn’t have discovered yours. Next time I’m sitting around at home wondering what to cook, I’ll know where to look.

Leave a Reply

