Mini Scones

I made these over the weekend, using my moms recipe. I have to admit they taste better when she makes them (of course!).

This recipe is quite a large one, I made half of it.

scones
Full recipe before halving:

  • 4 full cups of cake flour
  • 6 tsp royal baking powder
  • ¾  t bicarb
  • ± ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ pound butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2t vanilla essence + 2 t banana essence

Bake on 180ºC until golden.

Serve with jam + cream or cheese or just plain butter.

3 Responses

  1. Mmmm, what is it about us SA girls and our moms’ scones? I learnt my recipe from my mom and hers alwo always tasted better 🙂 Love your mini version!

  2. Looks good! What is royal baking powder? I am assuming it’s just a different name for regular baking powder. Just curious:)

  3. @ Farida – Royal is ZEE brand in baking powders…

    Like SNOWFLAKE cake flour ..

Leave a Reply

